Apple Oneroom Goshiwon

Hello Chinguuus!

Sorry for late post haha! I have finally decided to get down to complete this post after receiving an inquiry email on Apple Oneroom Goshiwon.

What is goshiwon?

In layman (or non-korean) term, a goshiwon is a private dormitory. A couple of differences, between local (SG) hall and goshiwon, are that most goshiwon rooms are often individually packed with private toilet, TV and air-conditioning within that tiny tiny tiny room. Say no more to the days when you have to queue up for shower, or coax yourself to sleep in hot, sweaty nights! Not forgetting, Also, goshiwons also come with a pantry that provides free bread, eggs, bread, etc.

How did I find Apple Oneroom Goshiwon?

I googled! While finding a suitable place to stay in for my Hanyang Summer, I chanced upon this brand new term “Goshiwon” and learnt a little more about it. Further googling, brought me to Goshipages, a page which functions like airbnb albeit in a much simplified template. Plugging “Hanyang University” into the search engine brings me to a page that lists the available goshiwon near the vicinity. Apple Oneroom was the second goshiwon from the list much thanks to its prime location.

How did I book Apple Oneroom Goshiwon?

I contacted them through the goshipages website. Thereafter, I was required to transfer a deposit of 100 000won/room via ibanking. If you are intending to stay with your friends, do consider making the transfer together to avoid incurring multiple transaction fee.

My experience with Apple Oneroom Goshiwon

Haha, this is probably the section that really matters to most! If I were to rate it, I would give the overall experience a 3 out of 5. Why? Read on to find out.

Location:

Imo, the goshiwon is primely located near Hanyang University – Seoul Campus. There is two ways of getting to the campus which I named them the front and the back of the school. The front involves conquering the insanely STEEP hill that leads one first to the medical school/hospital before the cyber school and so on and so forth. On the other hand, the back involves a much flatter path to the school but can be a little quieter as it is further from the main street. Either path would take you approximately 15 minutes to the get to campus by foot. For me, decision to which path to take depended largely on which building I was heading to. Eg: if you are heading to business school which is situated relatively near the centre of the campus, the back will be better choice.

An additional point to make is that Apple Oneroom is safely situated along a two-way road and will not require one to make turns in dark alley to get to it.

Apple Oneroom Goshiwon building/room:

Apple Oneroom Goshiwon is situated within the residential area. It is approximately 3-storeys high with no lift. Do not expect anything looking luxurious because it is anything but luxurious, okay that’s my personal comment. But seriously, don’t get your hopes too high about the place because, AGAIN MY PERSONAL OPINION, the pictures offered online ain’t providing the most accurate depiction of the goshiwon. The room that I had stayed in appeared smaller than the pictures shown online. The hallway and pantry definitely did not appear the same. Nevertheless, the room did come with TV, toilet and air-conditioning as promised. Other facilities such as washing machine and daily breakfast were provided as per stated on the site. Yet another complain of mine, the shower head was really cranky and it appeared that this problem was common amongst other rooms. To make up for the cranky shower head, ehmmmm, I can only say that the aircon did performed its task and helped me sleep comfortably through the hot summer nights. Oh, and the in-room personal fridge was also a plus too 🙂

Other points to note  would that no dryer was available and that the washing machine seemed to be always in-use. In the end, I hand-washed my clothes and dried them on the clothing racks available. Also, no toilet paper is provided. Bedsheets can be requested from the landlady but I don’t think she has enough for all. I brought my own bedsheets and pillow. For those who do not want to bring your own pillow, you can get one at the nearby daiso for less than 10 000won. Otherwise, you can also do some shopping for essentials at eMart at Wangsimni station.

the unpleasant check-in story

When we had arrived at the goshiwon, the manager/landlord/landlady was not in despite the fact that he had previously asked for the time of check-in. Fortunately, I had already gotten my korean sim card and hence was able to contact him via his number. He picked up and told us that he will be there swiftly to receive us. However, he did not show up in the end but an ahjumma took over the task of helping us check-in instead. I suppose she is the landlady as she stays in the first room from the entrance of the building. She could not speak english and neither could I speak much korean. However, thanks to korean dramas and shows, I do understand some BASIC korean.  With broken english and korean, we tried to communicate but it was really difficult. First of all, this landlady seemed to have no idea of who she will be receiving and what room had the person booked. As the 450 000won rooms had ran out, I had no choice but to book the 550 000won rooms via goshipages. However, at the point of check-in, I was shocked to hear from the land lady that she was out of 550 000won rooms and only had 3 rooms that costed 600 000won each. What on earthhhh. On goshipages, it was clearly reflected two types of rooms with two prices – 450 000won and 550 000won. I had also clearly asked the manager if there were to be any additional charges involved and he said NO.  And now, there is a room that costs 600 000won. Wow. However, at that point in time, I was more worried than angry. Reluctantly, I paid 600 000won for the room. Upon agreeing the new rental fee, the ahjumma then told us that she will need to collect an extra 30 000won as deposit for the key which is refundable during check-out. Okay okay, this sounds reasonable. All-in-all, I paid 530 000won (+100 000won deposit via ibanking) to the landlady upon check-in. On hindsight, I could have been more clear-headed and handled the situation better but… anxiety got the better of me. 

If given a chance, would I still stay in Apple Goshiwon? My answer is yes. Its location is great with reasonable amenities for the price paid albeit the unpleasant sudden inflation (story above). Ahjumma was really friendly and put in much effort to talk to us though I barely understood what she was trying to convey haha.

That’s all that I have to say. All of the above are based on my personal experience so please do take it with a pinch of salt.

Till then ~

picture1

 

 

Leave a Reply

